Arts & Culture

RSS Feed

In Newsrooms, Some Immigration Terms Are Going Out Of Style

In April, the Associated Press decided the word "illegal" should only be used to describe actions, not people. It's one of several major news outlets that have been reconsidering how to refer to people who are in this country illegally.

What We Can Learn From The Viral Spotlight On Charles Ramsey

A compelling television interview with Charles Ramsey, who helped save three women held in captivity in Cleveland, quickly became an online meme in the vein of Antoine Dodson and Sweet Brown. Slate's Aisha Harris and Jonathan Capehart of The Washington Post discuss what Harris has called the viral trend of the "hilarious black neighbor."

Book News: Hacker Leaks Part Of 'Sex And The City' Author's New Book

Also: poems by New York City taxi drivers; Imelda Marcos and the power of spectacle; and USA Today is losing books staffers.

An Epic Of India Gets A Canvas Its Own Size

Midnight's Children, from Oscar-nominated filmmaker Deepa Mehta, is a sweeping big-screen adaptation of Salman Rushdie's great novel of modern Indian history. NPR's Bilal Qureshi talks to the two storytellers about their collaboration on the project.

Was Rapper Danny Brown Sexually Assaulted?

Some people were outraged when a fan seemed to perform a sexual act on rapper Danny Brown during a concert. The controversy raised questions about sexual assault against men and hip-hop masculinity. Host Michel Martin talks to a roundtable of pop culture experts.

In France, A Renewed Push To Return Art Looted By Nazis

Nearly seven decades after the end of World War II, France is still attempting to locate the rightful owners of art that was looted by the Nazis. The Internet and improved technology have helped, but it's still a painstaking process.
WAMU 88.5

"Born On A Mountaintop:" The Legend Of Davy Crockett

We explore how legend transformed Davy Crockett into a pop culture icon, from the plays and folklore of his time to Disney’s “Crockett craze” in the 1950s and beyond.