Texting while driving in Virginia in now a primary offense.
Tougher penalties go into effect today for drivers in Virginia who text or email while behind the wheel.
The law increases the fines for texting and driving and makes it a primary offense, meaning officers can now pull drivers over who they suspect are using their phones to send texts and emails.
In the past, police needed another reason, a traffic violation, for instance, to pull the vehicle over before charging the driver with distracted driving.
More than two-thirds of the states and the District of Columbia treat texting and driving as a primary offense.
The fines go up significantly: $125 for the first violation, and it doubles to $250 for subsequent violations.