Drivers in Maryland who speed, drink, or text while driving face stiffer punishments beginning this morning.
Speed cameras are no longer just restricted to Montgomery County. Every jurisdiction in Maryland may now install them in construction and school zones.
Texting on a cell phone while driving is now illegal across the state. Fines for texting while driving can go as high as $500. Several laws against driving under the influence in Maryland have also changed. They extend probation for first-time offenders from 5 to 10 years.
State highway administrator Neil Pedersen says adults convicted of supplying alcohol to minors also face harsher penalties. Under another new law, anyone convicted of two DUI's within a five-year period will face a mandatory one-year drivers license suspension.
Matt Bush reports....